PW

## I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

APR 24 MI IO: 51

Resolution No3&-31 (い)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio

T. C. Ada %

Judith P. Guthertz, DPA

Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr. 4

Relative to recognizing and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam on the observance of the One Hundred Fourteenth (114th) Anniversary of the Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN

## GUÅHAN:

1

2

4

5

WHEREAS, the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines is observed

every year on the thirteenth (13th) of June, the Republic of the Philippines gaining its

independence through the sacrifices of many Filipino heroes, such as Dr. Jose Rizal,

6 the National Hero of the Philippines, who wrote "Noli Me Tangere" (The Lost

7 Eden), which popularized the independence sentiment, and whose execution by the

8 Spanish fostered public outrage and rebellion; Andres Bonifacio, who led the Cry of

9 Balintawak; General Emilio Aguinaldo, who commanded the Battle of Binakayan;

and Apolinario Mabini, known as the "Sublime Paralytic" and the "Brain of the

11 Revolution"; and

12 WHEREAS, the fight for freedom was also supported by noted Filipinas, such as Melchora Aquino, known as "Tandang Sora", who was exiled to the 13 Marianas by the Spanish Government; Teresa Magbanua, a twenty-eight (28) year 14 15 old teacher, who was one of the first women to lead men into battle; and other 16 Filipina heroines from all walks of life who joined the Revolutionary Forces; and WHEREAS, the culmination of the struggle for independence came on June 17 12, 1898, when General Emilio Aguinaldo declared the Independence of the 18 19 Philippines at his home town of Kawit, Cavite, where thousands of people from the 20 provinces gathered to witness this historic event, including the dramatic unfurling of the Philippine flag while the Philippine National Anthem was being played in public 21 for the first time, after which the "Act of the Declaration of Independence" was 22

WHEREAS, said Declaration was adopted by the Assembly of Municipal Presidents, and was ratified by the Congress of the Republic of the Philippines in Malolos, Bulacan, on September 1898, as an expression of the sovereign will of the Filipino people; and

solemnly read by its author, Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista, who patterned it after the

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam annually hosts a number of Philippine Independence Day activities in Guam, celebrating the numerous contributions that Filipinos have made to our island, those activities including:

- Thursday, May 31, 10 a.m.: Philippine Heritage Month Proclamation Signing;
- Saturday, June 2: 5K FLAG Santacruzan;

American Declaration of Independence; and

- Friday, June 8: Benefit Concert at the University of Guam Field House;
- Saturday, June 9, 6:30 p.m.: FCG Independence Day Ball, Sheraton Laguna
- 36 Guam Resort;

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

- Sunday, June 10, 3 p.m.: Mass at St. Anthony's Church - BASTA Assn.;

38	- Sunday, June 10, 4 p.m.: Mabini Shrine Commemoration - BASTA Assn.;
39	- Sunday, June 10: Cultural Show at Agana Shopping Center;
40	- Saturday, June 16: FCG Independence Day Run at Ypao Beach;
41	- Monday, June 18: ILOAG's Community Center Ribbon Cutting Ceremony;
42	- Tuesday, June 19: Dr. Jose Rizal's Birthday commemoration-Laguna Assn.;
43	- Saturday, June 23, 9 a.m2 p.m.: FCG Medical Mission, Swamp Road,
44	Dededo;
45	- Sunday, June 24: Apalit's Water Festival, Ypao Beach;
46	- Sunday, June 24: Bolinao Bani's St. Johns Festival, Matapang Beach;
47	- Saturday, June 30: ILOAG's 5K Run, Chamorro Village;
48	now, therefore, be it
49	RESOLVED, that I Mina'Trentai Unu Na Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on
50	behalf of the people of Guam, recognize and congratulate the Filipino Community of
51	Guam on the observance of the One Hundred Fourteenth (114th) Anniversary of the
52	Proclamation of the Independence of the Republic of the Philippines; and be it further
53	RESOLVED, that the Speaker certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to,
54	the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Ms. Leah
55	Beth Naholowaa, President, Filipino Community of Guam; to the Honorable Bayani
56	V. Mangibin, Consul General of the Philippines to Guam; and to the Honorable
57	Edward J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.
	DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA
	LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE DAY OF APRIL 2012.

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed.D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary

3